For those who don’t know what I’m talking about when I say tiny rebellions let me explain. Tiny rebellions are all the little things squares like me (or maybe you?) do in a day to feel defiant. I’m not gonna set the school on fire or write anarchistic literature. I will, however, say fuck you under my breath at a person whom I hate, I will kick the tire of that piece of shit BMW someone abandoned in street directly in front of my house when no one is looking.

We all want to be contumacious; we all want to be James Dean. Sadly we can’t all be. This means that middle class white people like myself will have to leave the revolution to Malcolm X and rather show up intentionally 5 minutes late for that meeting you really don’t want to go to to get our fix mutiny.

So fuck yeah to all the times I leave the toilet seat up or speak slightly loud in a library or drive 70 in a 60 zone. Eating peanut butter out of the jar, pissing in the ocean, not wearing my seat belt, shouting abuse at my neighbours cats and acting just generally recalcitrant.

Viva la (tiny) revolución!

