Why are we so against complaining? What is really so bad about it? Honesty seems to come with a caveat. That caveat is: We love honesty more than a prostitute likes crack cocaine but just don’t be honest when you dislike something. What an absolute load that is.

I find that whole “can do” attitude fake. It’s not real. It can’t be. I’ll give you an example of what I’m talking about here. I was watching this reality show about a training camp for young promising rugby players. In this episode I was watching they were punishing these guys for ill discipline by making them do fitness. What struck me was that as these guys were getting stuffed up they were asked by the crew about how they were doing. Every single one asked came with a macho reply in the line of “YEAH I’M LOVIN’ THIS!”.

Anyone that isn’t autistic can see that these dudes were battling. Why not just say “Yeah, it’s fucking terrible.” What would have been so wrong about being honest? Why put up this fake ultra masculine front? If you ask when I’m at the gym exercising  I’ll tell you that it’s hard work. Y’know, it’s difficult. Sure I enjoy the after effects of exercise but at that very moment it’s challenging. I could offer up some manful boast about how I fucking love the pump but I’d be lying. If  I grumble whilst I’m doing something it doesn’t mean that I don’t understand why I’m doing it. I wont stop doing it because I’m not a child.

I’m a big fan of utilitarianism. Utilitarianism is is the idea that the  value of an action is determined solely by its usefulness in maximizing utility and minimizing negative utility. When appraising an action (Which can be anything from brushing our teeth to masturbating to invading a country) we should look at it’s outcome or usefulness. In layman’s terms, will its consequence result in pleasure or pain? Eating lots of chocalate may be incredibly pleasurable while your doing it but in the end it’s unhealthy.

That’s why I subscribe to utilitarianism. It revolves around not lying to ourselves. Denying the pain in the action is silly and is more damaging than any amount of complaining in my books. If you have to do that whole shiny happy people thing all the time it simply means you’re immature. It means that you aren’t ready for the real world.

It means that you should’ve stayed in your cocoon for a lil’ bit longer.

Reference:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utilitarianism

